Battle for Women Empowerment: Nutandi

May 6, 2014

 

We shall overcome

We shall overcome

 

 

Ajan for freedom from Gohara Bibi stirred the whole Nutandi village. I experienced a new reflection day before yesterday at Nutandi. I saw and witnessed a dazzling look further than I could imagine. Jahanara Bibi danced with brave gestures, throwing hands, and showing fists in front of us. She did not hesitate to speak her inner voice to the small gatherings. Surprisingly there were outsiders and male-members .I realized what Azadi is to the Muslim women of Nutandi. I perceived Azadi is boundless, spontaneous and vibrating. Now I am far away from Nutandi but the words of Jahanara Bibi still ringing in my ears. I am fortunate to meet Jahana a warrior against autocracy.
Two weeks back I discovered another rebellion against autocracy. She is Lutfunnesa. –a young guy around twenties by appearance. In a group, I saw her agitated. She reiterated loudly & emphatically in front of male counters pointing their slanting attitude, partition outlook to the women. She cautioned the males for their fatwa prohibiting women from casting votes. I was overwhelmed seeing a brave young guy out crying for freedom .On that day in the group she was the single women. I admire her boldness and call for women empowerment. On returning back, I enjoyed telephonic talk with her. She is adamant and vowed to cast vote on 7th May… She wants to give a lesson to the orthodox people. On my query, she referred to a college girl. Who will defy male’s fatwa this time.

Utpal Ghosh – the able executive of Raghunathpur Block-11 took a challenge for Nutandi. Under his constant supervision every eligible women of the village has been provided with EPIC. Sri Ghosh initiated a good number of social projects in the villages. He has become a frequent visitor to the village. A new brand of energetic personnel have been put to the village to educate and empowering women. I heard that he had discussions with the Imam. , school teachers of the village and leaders of all parties for ensuring women participation in the election process.

Finally, he wanted civic bodies to operate in the village. Accordingly, to his call SHGs, Sri Arabinda Society, Manbhum Sanskriti Kendra came forward. Jagati Bagchi- a social activist is now in Nutadi. She is in constant touch with the women braving the sultry heat. Bagchi will not leave till election is over on 7th may.

Media has shown their interest on the issue. Their penning drew many to support Utpal Ghosh to this noble cause.

It is around 2-42 p.m. Paresh Majumdar along with Jagati returned. They are hopeful.

I am waiting to see the battle for empowerment of women in Nutandi tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

